Tags

, ,

Before analysing the city around which this blog is to be based on, a bit of history about its creation. As I noted in yesterday’s post, the world within which the city lives originally was formulated in the games I played with my sister as a child, a fictitious world within which there was a fictitious country called “Baba Land”, which which there was a fictitious city called “Baba City”. Yeah, original names I know. Early years of the games highlighted a few things about the nature of the place. There was a very wide main street, open only to pedestrians, that was known as “Baba Street”. There was also a very long arterial road (although of course I did not know such terms at the time) called “Baba Gooba Street” – this has survived right through until the most recent maps.

In around 1994, just before I started high school, I was regularly drawing up maps of fictional cities. They started off being fairly similar to Auckland, where I had grown up, but were increasingly different and increasingly linked with the fictional world that my sister and I had created. This both helped provide a bit more structure to our games, while also giving me something of an excuse to draw more elaborate cities than I had ever done so before. So I started filling a 1A5 exercise book with this city: Baba City.

In its originally drawn state, much of the city looked a bit like this: You can see, if you look closely, how this page evolved over time. The Anaheim Motorway was pushed through, with the prolific use of twink, quite a long time after I had originally drawn the map. I can’t remember exactly, but I think this was after I got a streetmap of the greater Los Angeles area and went on a motorway building spree across the city.

Zooming right out, the city – as first scanned in – looked like this:
The white bits between pages, the areas where things didn’t match up, the black shadows where the scanned hadn’t quite got things right, all necessitated a bit of “patching”, which I began fairly quickly.
Of course the process of “patching” a city like this is very much a never-ending process and somewhat unsurprisingly, it wasn’t too long before most of the city had been redrawn into being part of the “patch” – although I was fairly faithful to reproduce original things that I liked.
Since that time there’s been a lot of expanding and over-writing, particularly in the inner city where I seemed obsessed with getting it right.

In my next post I’ll start to actually analyse the place, rather than just my process of drawing it, although it’s worthwhile to get some idea about the size of the place in its most recently drawn form:

